Anne of the Green Gables – Books vs. Movies (1985 and 1987)

I read the books about Anne Shirley years ago when I was a young girl and I remember the movies (Anne Of The Green Gables, Anne Of The Green Gables – The Sequel and the dreadful third movie I refuse to name) being aired during the Christmas Holidays where in Denmark (where I live). It was cut into “episodes” so the week between Christmas and New Year I spend an hour a day watching this. I’ve only seen the third movie once many years ago while I’ve seen the two first several times. I bought them in a box set some years go (which unfortunately included the third movie).

As I’ve grown older I have become more aware of the blatant omission of some things in the books which I find very unfortunate and regretful looking back. My favorite books are

Anne Of The Green Gables,Anne Of Avonleaand/or Anne Of The Island  is in no particular order. Though I’m extremely fond ofAnne Of The Island and I’m actually really disappointed that Anne’s time at Redmond College never made into the first or second movie.

The first movie is based fairly accurately on the first book while the second movie run fast and loose with the two following books. Below I’ve made at comparison of the book and the first movie.

Movie (1985)
– Anne is 12 years old.
– There is a ”trial period” for Marilla and Matthew to decide if they will keep Anne in the film.
– Anne meets Gilbert at a Picnic.
– Josie’s dare, Gilbert and the other boys are there and it is said to be at Moody’s house.
– Only the girls are there and it is at Diana’s house.Anne and Diana go through the Haunted Woods with Anne’s injured ankle.
– The Allan’s show up much earlier in the movie.The Allan’s show up much later in the book.
– Anne goes to a ball with Diana and Aunt Josephine.
– Diana goes with Anne for the latter Queens Exam.
– The Lily Maid scene comes up much later in the movie.
– They did not know the scores for the Queen Exam yet.Gilbert tells Anne they tied on the Queens Exam.
– Those scenes with Gilbert and Anne talking were made up after he tried
to apologize to Anne but she vowed never to speak to him again.
– Anne recites, “The Highwayman” at the concert in White Sands.
– The Movie ended with Gilbert leading Anne back to Green Gables after confirming he gave up the School in Avonlea.

Book (1908)
Anne is 11 years old.
There is no “trial period” for Marilla and Matthew to decide if they will keep Anne in the book.
– Anne meets Gilbert at school.Anne takes on.
– Anne takes on Josie’s dare.
– No injury.
– Only Anne braves the woods late in the evening to retrieve a pattern from Mrs. Barry.
– Anne goes to a concert with Diana and Aunt Josephine.
– The event with Diana going with Anne for her Queens Exam doesn’t happen in the books.
– The Lily Maid scene comes up much earlier in the book. Also, no “fishing for lake trout” comment in the book.
– Diana tells Anne tied with Gilbert on the Queen’s Exam.
– Anne and Gilbert were not on speaking terms until they meet together,
after Anne leaves Matthew’s grave and she heard news that Gilbert gave
up the Avonlea School for her benefit.
– Anne recites, “The Maidens Vow” at the concert in White Sands.
– In the book, it ends with Anne in her Bedroom contemplating her future

As you can see there aren’t many differences between the movie and book. This is the reason why I think this is the best movie of the lot. I know it’s impossible to adapt everything from a book when making a movie. And I’m absolutely fine fine with how the different directors of Harry Potter and Peter Jackson have made their movies.

I really want to make something similar for the second movie and the three books it covers, but I don’t have time to do it right now.

It will however be pointless to try to do something like this with the third movie because it’s an original story/screen play which throws out the later books of The Green Gables series (Anne’s House Of Dreams, Anne Of Ingleside, Rainbow Valley & Rilla Of Ingleside). I can understand why Kevin Sullivan wouldn’t want to adapt the last two books because they really don’t follow Anne (as she is now a grown woman) instead the point of view shifts to her six children and their adventures.

Anne Of The Green Gables Series:
1. Anne Of Green Gables (1908) by Lucy Maud Montgomery
2. Anne Of Avonlea (1909) by Lucy Maud Montgomery
3. Anne Of The Island (1915) by Lucy Maud Montgomery
4. Anne Of Windy Poplars (1936) by Lucy Maud Montgomery
5. Anne’s House of Dreams (1917) by Lucy Maud Montgomery
6. Anne Of Ingleside (1939) by Lucy Maud Montgomery
7. Rainbow Valley (1919) by Lucy Maud Montgomery
8. Rilla Of Ingleside (1921) by Lucy Maud Montgomery